2012 Grand Prize Winner, Registered Nurse

Medical Center of Lewisville RN Named Grand Prize Winner of National Cherokee Inspired Comfort Award

Linda Wyman-Collins, a Fate, Tx. resident and registered nurse (RN) with the Medical Center of Lewisville, is a winner of the 10th annual Cherokee Inspired Comfort Award.  Linda is among five healthcare professionals across the country to be named an award winner, selected for their impact on the lives of others through extraordinary patient care, sacrifice and innovation while serving as an inspiration to others. Linda is the grand prize winner of the Cherokee Inspired Comfort Award in the RN category.

The Cherokee Inspired Comfort Award recognizes the significant contribution of these professionals to today’s society, while reinforcing the vital role of these professions in keeping Americans healthy. From staging the largest bone marrow drive in the state to rushing to the scene of a fire after a long day of work, the winners were selected for going above and beyond their job descriptions to selflessly serve others in a way truly inspiring to their peers.

A clinician, lobbyist, educator, community activist and volunteer, Linda has dedicated herself to improving the lives of others in an area of medicine very personal to her — hemophilia.  Linda’s passion and commitment to educating the community and healthcare professionals about bleeding disorders is seen through legislation, education and awareness efforts she has championed.  Her dedication to this cause, a condition that she lives with, is exemplified by opting to work the night shift in order to volunteer countless hours (over 1,000 in 2011) on this front during the day, including lobbying for funding for hemophilia treatment centers in the US.  Among her many notable achievements, she successfully lobbied the Texas Legislature for the reestablishment of the Texas Bleeding Disorders Advisory Council, which advises government entities on key data and outcomes.

“As a registered nurse, I like my work because it inspires others to become an advocate for themselves, especially when it comes to healthcare.” Linda said.  “My goal is to teach, empower and advocate for my patients and myself.”

The 2012 winners of the Cherokee Inspired Comfort Award were announced in conjunction with its 10th anniversary. More than 10,000 healthcare professionals have been nominated since the inception of the award.  The award honors winners in categories including: Registered Nurses, Advance Practice Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses/Licensed Vocational Nurses, students enrolled in nursing schools, and other non-physician healthcare professionals. Judges selecting honorees include Cherokee Uniforms professionals, national nurse leaders and former Cherokee Inspired Comfort Award recipients.

The grand prize winner in each category will receive an all-expenses-paid Caribbean cruise for two, and all other winners will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to a 2013 medical conference of their choice in the continental US.  All winners will receive a wardrobe featuring the best of Cherokee Uniforms and Cherokee Footwear, a value of $1,000; a crystal Cherokee Inspired Comfort Award trophy; a 14K gold-plated commemorative pin; a year’s subscription to Scrubs, the nation’s first lifestyle magazine for nurses; and a $500 donation in their name to the DAISY (Diseases Attacking the Immune System) Foundation.

Additionally, Cherokee Uniforms donated $1 for each nomination received during the 2012 nomination period to Nurses House, a national fund that provides short-term financial assistance to registered nurses facing hardships.

Leave a comment

Linda Wyman-Collins, BSN, RNC-NIC

Linda Wyman-Collins, BSN, RNC-NIC

  1. Congratulations Linda, award well deserved, this cherokee award is such an honor and well deserved by you, proud to be on your team of nurses USA!

    Feb 22, 2013

  2. Congratulations, Linda! What an honor to be recognized for your contribution to improve outcomes for people with hemophilia. I won the Inspired Comfort Award several years ago, so I am always eager to see who received the award each year. Best wishes!

    Feb 22, 2013